A Room of My Own

the inner ramblings of a self-declared geek

I Want To Ride My Bicycle August 8, 2011

Filed under: my house — aroomofmyown @ 7:56 pm

So about a week ago, my neighborhood hosted the 24 hour bike race.  It’s usually pretty fun to sit outside and observe all the kinds of bikes and riders that travel past in the 24 hour period.  It’s great people-watching, all from the comfort of home.

However, being removed from the proceedings, it can get a bit confusing.  You see some things that you really don’t know how to explain.  For instance, in the next clip, why in the hell is the guy riding around with an extra bike strapped to his back?  I have no answers to this question.  It’s frustrating as hell.

I know it’s hard to tell without being zoomed in, but trust me.  The guy has a disassembled bike on his bike while pedaling like mad.  Also, why were some people driving around with little carts behind them, almost like rickshaws?

These guys had tunes and a cooler full of beer in the back.  Call me crazy, but I wouldn’t want to pedal anything extra if I didn’t have to.  And what category where they in – the tandem?  Speaking of that, look at this one for the best tandem bike of the race.  They decorated the bejeezus out of it.  The car in the video actually stops to look at it.

Then, there are the bikes that seem to defy physics.  When I saw the bike below, I wondered what the rider does when he has to stop at a red light.  Lean up against a telephone pole?

And don’t forget the bonus checkpoints throughout the race.  My street is just the standard route, but participants can earn extra points by stopping at checkpoints and doing random things.  I found this video showing one example.  It’s pretty funny.

At the end of the day, it’s a great thing for a neighborhood to be known for, particularly in a city that loves to focus on its negative qualities.  This shows that thoughtful, motivated, fun-loving, creative and crazy people live in Riverwest.  I think it’s a wonderful place to call home.

 

Leave a Reply

